Skip to content

Gate, Gate, Parasamgate

September 16, 2010

“Gone, gone, completely gone,” said the Buddha.

So is my inbox.

Yesterday my email server sent the message that it was full and that I needed to free up space. I went in and deleted all email on the server, not knowing that this in fact had the effect of deleting all email in my home computer’s inbox.

(Gunnar has since pointed out, correctly, that I’m working from IMAP – let this be a warning to any others working from IMAP.)

So, for about the third or fourth time in a year and a half, though for a different reason, I’ve lost my entire inbox.

I’m not sure what the full impact of this will be and probably will only discover that as time progresses. What a radical way of simplfying. Or should I say “shooting myself in the foot.”

So if anything we were doing depended on my having had an email from you previously, I no longer have it. By the same token, I may have lost most of your addresses too.

I humbly, very humbly, request anyone who is operating an archival arrangement just to send me a note confirming the arrangement so I have that on file. Thank you.

It must be a sign of the impact of the rising energies that I’m not devastated by this development. It just seems like what is happening today, much like, hey, it’s sunny or, hey, it’s raining.

Namaste,

Steve

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anara Brinmere permalink
    September 17, 2010 8:12 am

    Well, it’s a sunny day for me, since I’m still in your email list. Blessings — Anara

  2. maty permalink
    September 16, 2010 9:26 pm

    Hi, Steve, still on line waiting for your news, everyday.

  3. Gunnar permalink
    September 16, 2010 1:18 pm

    Sounds like you are working via IMAP. That usually means the server holds everything and you just see a reflection of the content on the client.

    POP downloads mail to the local client and depending on configuration leaves it on the server or deletes it.

    Some client programs support both options. The user has to decide😉

    I wonder how computer will operate in the future. They are such are burden for so many folks.

    • September 16, 2010 3:05 pm

      Yes, I am, apparently, Gunnar. And I will get it changed to POP, just as soon as I find a minute.

      Thanks,

      Steve

Leave a Reply

